Who Writes Better?: A Battle of the Sexes

The fine folks at Grammarly (a grammar checker) were kind enough to share the following infographic with me. I wanted to share it with y’all because I think it’s an interesting debate. What defines “good” writing anyhow? Is it the characters? Plot? Description?

Checking out my Goodreads list reveals that so far this year, I’ve read six books written by women and four books written by men. The thing is, I don’t really pay attention to the gender of the person writing; I tend to focus more on the type of content or plot I’m interested in at the moment. But my statistics would say I prefer women.

Hmmm, what do you think? Are women or men better writers?

Image courtesy of grammerly.com

Image courtesy of grammerly.com

2 thoughts on “Who Writes Better?: A Battle of the Sexes

  1. This was very interesting. Now that I think about it, most of my favorite books that I have read were by women. I guess I have a lot of work to do, if I want to be a good author. Hahahaha! Seriously, I was happy to see that men and woman polled close in some areas though. I guess there is hope for me yet. Hahahaha!

    • Thanks for your comment, James! Haha, your point made me go back and look at my Goodreads list to see who I am reading. It’s a lot of guys! Perhaps people tend to read more from the opposite gender. An interesting thought!

Leave a Reply

