If We Were Having Coffee…

A few days ago, I saw this post from Jamie over at Perpetual Page Turner. I thought, “What a super cool idea!” I love that, as a blogger, I can interact with my followers in a more personal way. So, I decided to follow suit and write my own “If We Were Having Coffee” post (thought I enjoy hot chocolate more. But, well, “If We Were Having Coffee” is a way more attractive blog post title than “If We Were Each Partaking in Our Warm Beverages of Choice”).

I've got my cocoa and cinnamon! And why yes, that is Katniss Everdeen behind me.

I’ve got my cocoa and cinnamon! And why yes, that is Katniss Everdeen behind me.

Here’s the idea: I share what’s going on with me right now with you, the reader, as if we were sitting together, cozy and sharing life over warm mugs ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to ask you questions too, so feel free to respond via comment or e-mail (roaringout (at) gmail (dot) com).ย So grab a mug of your warm beverage of choice (hmm, maybe that alternate blog title would work…) and join me:

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I much prefer hot chocolate with cinnamon.

I’d ask you what your favorite warm beverage is.

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I felt like the absolute worst teacher yesterday. I was caught in horrendous traffic with no way of getting in touch with my 8 am class. I arrived 20 minutes late, and my students had understandably left (our classroom is locked and I’m the only one who can open it). They did leave a note with the names of all who were present, which was responsible of them. I felt like “such a fucking failure” (to quote myself from a 10-minute freewrite I did during class time since no students were present). I harp on my students to be on time and to not waste my time, their time, or their fellow classmates’ time, yet that’s exactly what I did, though not intentionally. Even after I e-mailed the class to explain, I felt like it was not enough.

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I also practiced being kind to myself yesterday. Everyone makes mistakes. The semester is a month in, and I’ve extended grace to many of my students. I shouldn’t feel ashamed to ask for a bit of grace as well.

I’d ask you about a time when you felt bad, but learned to practice being kind to yourself.

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I’m super excited, though nervous, about selling my art at a local craft fair on Sunday. I’ve still got a bunch of prep to do, but it also means that I know I’ll prioritize fun, crafty work!

I’d ask you what opportunities are you excited about. What risks, however small or great, are you taking?

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you I’m also super excited yet nervous about getting married next month. I love that I get to spend the rest of my life with the most amazing man in the universe (I may or may not be biased…), but, ohย boy, weddings are a lot of work! I’ve got most things under control, I just don’t like planning for long-term projects. I know everything will be worth it the day of; I just have to keep reminding myself of this fact.

I’d ask you to tell me about a time when you were nervous, but everything turned out OK.

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I’m a bit frustrated with myself for not making more “me” time; that is, time to write, to be crafty, to read, to do things that I love.

I’d ask you what you like to do during “me” time. I’d also ask how you make time for the things you love to do, as opposed to the things you have to do.

If we were having coffee…I’d tell you that I’m so excited about fall TV lineups starting again. I love so many shows (Supernatural and Walking Dead, anyone?) that I can barely keep track!

I’d ask you what your favorite fall shows are.

OK, I think that’s good for now. Your turn! Feel free to respond in the comments or via e-mail to me. I’m looking forward to your side of the conversation ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. You’re getting married!!! Congrats! I’m way behind on my blog reading, obviously. And how did your art fair go today? Was it worth being nervous about? Usually things like that end up being pretty fun! I’m busy being a new mom over here on my side of the coffee table…..I’m so in love with our daughter, Clementine. I’m also feeling pretty stressed about working and needing to work so much. We get a lot of time with her and have a nanny here at home, but I still get scared that I’m going to miss something.

    • Thanks so much for the congrats ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t said much about it on the blog, so no need to feel like you missed anything.

      The craft fair went really well. So not worth being nervous about. I made one sale (to friends!) and got a ton of interest. Many business cards were handed out, so hopefully that drums up interest! I met tons of great people and saw many great vendors. It was one big community.

      Gosh, sounds like your side of the coffee table is wonderful and full of changes! By the way, Clementine is the cutest name for a baby girl ever! I’m not a parent, so I can’t sympathize, but it does sound like you are doing the very best you can. I grew up with a single mom who always had to work, but I never felt like she was ignoring me. The fact that she had to work full time never made me feel like she didn’t love me. So I can just offer sympathy from someone who used to be a baby girl to a busy parent: Sounds like your heart’s in the right place. That totally comes through to your child ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll be there for what’s important, and what’s important is the little moments. I’m sure you’re doing great ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for chatting! I hope you get to spend much more time with Clementine and your husband.

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee…Wedding Edition! | Roaring Out

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee…Winter Edition | Roaring Out

Leave a Reply

