New Year’s Resolutions 2014 – An Update

These make my life, and keeping resolutions, so much easier.

These make my life, and keeping resolutions, so much easier. Image courtesy of: mannahealthgroup.com

Welp, now that we are just under three months away from the new year, I figured it was time for an update on my resolutions (I resolved to give updates every quarter….that didn’t work out). But, I am happy that I’ve made quite a bit of progress on a bunch of my resolutions:

1. Read 5 classic books
I’ve read one! I read The Hobbit via audiobook (my new obsession). Pride and Prejudice is next on the list, methinks.

2. Read 5 books I already own
Ugh, I hate that I haven’t even started this yet. Nearly every day, I stare at the books I already own (many of which are on a shelf right next to my bed) and think, “I should read one. Maybe poetry. That won’t take long!” And then I go into the living room and pick up one of the newer books I have rented from the library.

Any suggestions on how to break my apparent lack of motivation to read books I own?

3. Read 10 books on my Goodreads “To Read” list
This one’s done as of September! I’m really happy about this. I’m actually on to the twelfth book on my “To Read” list. Sure, this list has grown by over 100 books this year, but I’m going to savor this small victory 🙂

4. Read and review the ARCs (both digital and hard copy) that I’ve received in the past two years
Much like my resolution to read books I own, I haven’t finished books that I’ve received as ARCs. I’ve started one and am really into it. I just need to pick it back up…

5. Read the four Gospels
This one is started. I’m five chapters into Matthew, Luke, and John. Just have to keep chugging!

6. Send chapbook out to at least five different contests
This one is done! I finished in May. I believe the number of contests I’ve submitted to is up to ten or more at this point. They’ve all been rejections thus far, but I’m not giving up. I even revamped my chapbook this year, so hopefully that will help.

7. Spruce up my full-length poetry manuscript to send out to at least two fall book contests
This is in the works. I want to submit to a full-length prize that has a deadline of November 1. Going to submit something to that contest come hell or high water!

8. Acquire a full-time teaching gig
This is out of my control. From now on, I won’t make resolutions similar to these. All I can do is control how much I apply. I have certainly applied for several positions, but no dice. Again, not giving up!

9. Work on a piece of art every other week
This has actually gone fairly well! I’ve tried daily painting, drawing, doodling, and collage challenges. All of these have taught me that I don’t do well with daily challenges. I’m learning to work a bit more with my natural flow of creativity, which comes in spurts. While it doesn’t come every day, inspiration definitely comes at least every other week—usually more so! I’ve been trying to document my creativity on Flickr by taking pictures of when I do something creative. I’m behind on posting pics for the summer, but what I have so far can be found in this online album.

10. Blog at least twice a week
Welp, clearly this hasn’t gone well. I’m re-evaluating what I want to do with my blog. I want to keep it. I always have ideas that I’m excited to share, but I don’t make it a priority to sit down and write. Perhaps I should make a pledge to post once a week or twice every other week. I really don’t want to, but I’m not sure how else to stick with a posting schedule.

Bloggers, any ideas on how to stick to a semi-regular posting schedule?

11. Pay off one of my two major credit cards
This is also in the works. As I mentioned in my previous resolution post, I took out a low-interest loan and am slowly but surely paying it back. I think I’m going to count this as a win, even if I did “cheat” a bit on the paying off part.

If you have made some resolutions, how are they going?

If you’d like to keep up with my goal progress apart from my quarterly blog updates, check this page out. I update it when I’m making progress with my goals (particularly the reading ones).

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2014 – An Update

  1. Good for you Michelle – I’m impressed! I may even make a list like this next year 😉
    (And yes, read Pride and Prejudice – it’s AMAAAAAAAZING!)

  2. Pingback: An Update, Some Great News, and a Poem for Your Monday | Roaring Out

  3. Hi Michelle–
    I got overwhelmed just reading your resolutions list! Have you read anything by Leo Babauta on zenhabits.net? He writes a lot about how to change habits and I’ve found his techniques work very well for me. Highly recommend it:)

Leave a Reply

