I Can’t Believe I’m Doing This: 10 Songs I’m Embarrassed to Say I Listen To

Back in August, I wrote a post about music I’d recently discovered. But we all have songs on our iPod that we put on when no one else is listening.  They’re the guilty pleasure songs.  For me, a lot of these songs have a nostalgic quality.  Others, well, there’s just no excuse…

1. Ultimate – Lindsay Lohan

Over (Lindsay Lohan song)

Over (Lindsay Lohan song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ok, this one doesn’t actually have a nostalgia excuse.  I worked at a library for a few years where I helped out with children’s programming.  Many times we’d play “Freeze Dance,” where the object was to freeze right as a song stopped playing.  One of the songs we played frequently was this one.  After hearing it so many times, I just put it on my iPod.

Lindsay Lohan – Ultimate

2. Who Do You Think You Are? – The Spice Girls
A little know song by Britain’s other fab five.  It’s got a funky retro vibe that I dig. But I swear, I listen for the nostalgia.  Not like I dance around in my apartment on a regular basis to this song.  Nope, not at all.

Spice Girls – Who Do You Think You Are?

3. We R Who We R – Ke$ha
There really is no excuse at all for this one.  I heard it on the radio once and thought it was the most stupid song in existence.  The second time I heard it, I started bopping my head.  The third time, I started singing along.  Oh, pop songs, how you are so terribly catchy.

02 We R Who We R

4. Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley
Why yes, I do rick roll myself on occasion.

Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up

5. Man, I Feel Like a Woman! – Shania Twain
Silly as it sounds, there are times when I feel empowered by this song.  Not in the “I am woman, hear me ROAR!” kind of way.  But in the “I am woman and, dammit, I’m going to have fun!” kind of way.  Also a fun one to dance to.

Shania Twain – Man! I Feel Like a Woman!

6. I Want It That Way – Backstreet Boys

Millennium (Backstreet Boys album)

Millennium (Backstreet Boys album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know why nostalgia embarrasses me, but it does.  I don’t think this is a particularly bad song, though I was around 13 when I first made the “this is a good song” judgement.

Backstreet Boys – I Want It That Way

7. All or Nothing – O-Town
Another boy band.  I’m more embarrassed by how excited I get when this song plays on Pandora than by the song itself.  Also, I belt it out whenever it’s on.

8. A Little Pain – Trapnest
Oh, the days of conventions and cosplaying!  In an article I posted last week, I showed a picture of me dressed as a character from the anime Nana.  That character is the lead singer of Trapnest’s rival band.  There was a time I was very much into anime, thus how this song made it’s way onto my iPod.

Trapnest – A Little Pain

9. Wonderwall – Oasis
Yeah, nostalgia.  I’m not even sure why I’m embarrassed by this song.  Maybe I just needed to fill space in this post…

Oasis – Wonderwall

10. Heartless – Kanye West
Yo Kanye, I’m really happy for you and Imma let you finish, but I made up this dope dance to yo’ song.  No really, I made up a dance that’s more a series of hand gestures. I don’t know that I’d perform it if asked.  It’s silly.

Kanye West – Heartless

I was going to include a Schoolhouse Rock song on this list, but ,dammit, I like interjections!

Your turn to share!  Any embarrassing songs on your MP3 player?

3 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe I’m Doing This: 10 Songs I’m Embarrassed to Say I Listen To

  1. Pingback: 10 Songs that Should be on your iPod (or other MP3 player…) | Roaring Out

Leave a Reply

