Rearview Mirror: A Look at Bucket List Items I’ve Accomplished

Road

Road (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

In yesterday’s post, I focused on my bucket list.  A few days before that, I posted an article about my goals for the new year.  Now I’d like to focus on things I’ve already done.

Ambition is great, but sometimes you’ve got to focus on how far you’ve already come, the road you’ve left behind. Here are some of the highlights from my 26 years (in no particular order):

  • Done a photoshoot with a band

    Yup, I took this :)  The band's name is JPT (short for Just Passing Thru)

    Yup, I took this 🙂 The band’s name is JPT (short for Just Passing Thru)

  • Met two of my fav bands – Coheed & Cambria and RED
    Me and Claudio Sanchez of Coheed and Cambria

    Me and Claudio Sanchez of Coheed and Cambria

    Me and the guys of RED

    Me and the guys of RED

     

  • Learned to shoot a gun
  • Mastered the xbox 360 controllers (There was a lot of time spent either looking at the ceiling or my character’s butt, but I eventually got the hang of it)
  • Became the first person in my family to get a Master’s degree
  • Participated in a dildo relay race (Rocky Horror Picture Show. ‘Nuff said.)
  • Moved out on my own
  • Had my first poem published
  • Survived high school
  • Found the man I want to spend the rest of my life with (He’ll deny it, but he’s the absolute bestest 🙂 )
  • Visited 10 states
  • Led poetry workshops and talks at two high schools and a senior citizen center
  • Made my own pasta from scratch
  • Dressed up for a convention (several times!)

    Me as Rocker Nana from the anime, Nana.  This costume was made mostly by a friend of mine and she kindly let me wear it.

    Me as Rocker Nana from the anime, Nana. This costume was made mostly by a friend of mine and she kindly let me wear it.

  • Me as Trinity saying "Dodge This" to one of my friends.

    Me as Trinity saying “Dodge This” to one of my friends.

  • Made a costume that I’m proud of, most of which I made by myself

    Me as Patti from the anime, Souleater.  I made the hat, tie, and shirt.

    Me as Patti from the anime, Souleater. I made the hat, tie, and shirt.

  • The actual Patti

    The actual Patti

  • Pumped my own gas
  • Read my work at several open mic nights
  • Taught at the college level
  • Started a freelance way of life

I’m pretty excited about that last one.  This year should prove interesting since I’m going to be freelancing full time.  It’ll definitely be a ride!  But that’s what life is about, right?

What are some things you’ve accomplished that you are proud of?

9 thoughts on “Rearview Mirror: A Look at Bucket List Items I’ve Accomplished

  1. Fabulous list of fun experiences and impressive accomplishments! Love your photo of the band and your costumes. With your talent and drive, you’ll undoubtedly succeed as a full-time freelancer. Have fun!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Julie! I really appreciate it. I’m glad you enjoyed this post 🙂 I’ll certainly be writing more about my bucket list items soon…I think there are a few I can accomplish this year!

  2. What a lovely idea, a great act of gratitude to give thanks for what you’ve already done before seeking more. I wish you all the best for a wonderful, fun, creative and poetic New Year!

  3. Pingback: Kicking the Bucket: Things I’d Like to Do Before I Die | Roaring Out

Leave a Reply

