5 Little Things That Are Simply Splendid

As I got ready to leave work yesterday, I was quite excited with the thought of the maple sweet mashed potatoes I would be making as my dinner side dish.  I thought of how awesome this simple food dish is, which got me thinking of all the little things I love.  So as an exercise in gratitude, I made a list of five “small things” I absolutely love and make my life that much easier/enjoyable (I didn’t include family, friends, or God because I think those are implied.  They are also not little ;-)).

1. New Book Smell – I know the world is moving to e-books and, to be honest, I may go that way someday myself.  But nothing can replace the awesome smell of pages fresh from the press.  As a kid, I loved smelling books.  To this day, I still smell the pages when I get an order in from Amazon.  I know, I’m weird.

2. Baby Laughter – Seriously, how can you not hear them laugh and keep a straight face?  I don’t have a kid and don’t want kids for quite some time.  But when I’m out and see a little munchkin in her stroller, I always smile.  The heartiness of a baby’s laugh provides a bright spot on even the most crap-worthy day.  Case in point:

See?  You couldn’t keep yourself from smiling could you?

3. Tabbed Internet Browsing – I’m really ADD when I surf the web.  The ease of pressing CTRL + T to get the information I want is such a fabulous convenience.  Every now and then, I’m on a computer that isn’t mine and isn’t equipped with tabbed browsing.  The clutter of all those windows brings about my sad panda face 😦

My Wikipedia-famous Posh Spice picture

4. Bobby Pins – For most of my life, I had super long hair (mid-back length).  I cut it short when I graduated college in 2008 and haven’t looked back since.  For a while I looked like Posh Spice with the short back and longer bangs.  Then I cut it even shorter.  Now I have a pixie cut with long-ish bangs.  This is when I became fond of bobby pins.  I can’t put my hair in a pony tail, but I don’t like having bangs in my face most of the time.  Bobby pins are a simple wonder that I am infinitely grateful for.  Eating my bangs doesn’t sound pleasant.

5. Maple Sweet Mashed Potatoes – While the thought of eating my bangs is unpleasant, I could eat sweet mashed potatoes every day!  And they are so simple to make.  I use the recipe found in Jae Steele’s book “Get It Ripe.”  She adds a bit of maple syrup to her mashed ‘taters and I have to say it’s a delicious addition!  Here is the batch that I made last night:

Om nom nom!

What’s one “small thing” you would add to this list?

12 thoughts on “5 Little Things That Are Simply Splendid

  1. Mmmm…I love the smell of secondhand books, actually. It has a certain musty smell that gives the book a more classic feeling, no matter what year it was published. And it is said laughter is contagious, but baby’s laughter never fails to cause a small chuckle from me as well. Nice post on gratitude for the simple, random things part of life.

  2. I love getting snail-mail. Which happens maybe 5 times a year, but I love it anyway!! I keep sending cards to my friends in hope that people will catch on and send something back, but to no avail. People are just so attached to email!

    • Oooh, that’s a good one! I love getting snail mail also. I really do wish people would drop away from e-mail just a bit. A friend of mine from Maine and I tried corresponding regularly via snail mail about 3 years ago, but it dropped off. Though we did manage a bunch of letters and I’m convinced they will be collected in an anthology when we become famous poets!

      I will fight with you to keep postal letters and “just because” cards going strong 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Wanderer’s Guide to Life | Roaring Out

    • Thanks so much for your kind words! Haha, I am not yet a famous blogger, but I hope to be at some point. Glad you liked the post and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

