25 @ 25: A Photo Challenge

I recently read an article about self-portrait photography.  I’ve always shied away from self-portraits because I like to focus on other subjects when I’m creating the shots.  But Larry Lourcey, the author of the article, talked about how his creativity was sharpened by self-portraiture.  He made a challenge for himself: since he had just turned 40, he would take a picture of himself each week for 40 weeks. This project challenged Lourcey to turn himself and his interests into a series of captivating images.  The results are incredible!  You can check out his 40@Forty Gallery here.

I’ve recently turned 25, so I thought this challenge would be a pretty cool one to try (turning a quarter of a century old should be commemorated somehow, right?).  So, for the next 25 weeks I’ll be posting a self-portrait.  I’m hoping this discipline of regularly taking pictures will challenge me to get really inventive and sharpen my photography skills.

I’m definitely open to suggestions, so if you have an idea for a setting/theme/etc. feel free to leave a comment or shoot me an e-mail 🙂  In the meantime, here’s the first image to kick off the series:

17 thoughts on “25 @ 25: A Photo Challenge

  1. Pingback: 25 @ 25: By the Dock « Roaring Out

  2. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Shadow Play « Roaring Out

  3. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Artist at Work « Roaring Out

  4. Pingback: 25 @ 25: These Black Boots Were Made for Walkin’ « Roaring Out

  5. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Reflections « Roaring Out

  6. Pingback: 25 @ 25 Photo Challenge: Kung Fu Fighting « Roaring Out

  7. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Boots and Blossoms « Roaring Out

  8. Pingback: 25 @ 25: The Lady in the Window « Roaring Out

  9. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Spilling Shadows « Roaring Out

  10. Pingback: 25 @ 25: The Almost Model « Roaring Out

  11. Pingback: 25 @ 25: A Better Close-Up « Roaring Out

  12. Pingback: A Creative Challenge « 47andfearless

  13. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Spring in My Hand « Roaring Out

  14. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Veins, Network of Blue Highways « Roaring Out

  15. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Neon Volunteering « Roaring Out

  16. Pingback: 25 @ 25: Slick Sound « Roaring Out

  17. Pingback: Kicking the Bucket: Things I’d Like to Do Before I Die | Roaring Out

Leave a Reply

