Seeing RED

I got to meet the guys of one of my favorite bands last month.  It was St. Patrick’s Day. While most people wear green on this day, all I saw was RED (I know, I know, terrible pun).  I’ve been a fan of this band since before their first album was released.  I first heard their music back in 2006 on Myspace (gasp!).  I was hooked.  When I heard they were offering the chance for six fans to hang out with them during each stop of their latest tour, I knew I had to go.

And I did.  And the guys were awesome — funny, down-to-earth, talented dudes.  I was the first person to step onto the tour bus.  I had no idea what to say, so I just said “Hi!”  Before I knew it, I had shaken hands with each of them and was sitting next to the drummer.  We hung out for about 30 – 45 minutes and talked about everything from their new album to the fact that they had a fight with a taser a while back.  It was definitely one of those “I can’t believe I get to live this life” moments.

I went to this concert with a friend of mine who works for a magazine.  She was able to get a press pass (Thanks, Suzy!)  This means that during RED’s set, I was in their faces taking pictures.  See?

I will never forget being in the press pit, headbanging, singing, and clicking away with the SLR.  Now, I never have high expectations when trying to take pictures at a concert because most of them turn out to be unintentional light paintings.  But sometimes, you get shots like this:

 

 

Leave a Reply

