Merry Christmas, Bean!

About a week ago, a friend gave me an “I Love You Bean.”  I had no idea such a thing existed, but hey, I’m not complaining (it actually goes with an inside joke we have….long story).  Anyhoo, I’m not exactly a gardener extraordinaire, so I was nervous that I’d kill the gift.

The day after I got the present, I unwrapped the disc of dirt and the two lima beans and followed the instructions.  It was simple enough:

1) mix the dirt in water (actually, the “mixing” consisted of me stabbing the disc of dirt, which refused to disintegrate, and then leaving it for about 30 seconds while I tended to something else.  When I went back into the kitchen, I found a giant pillar of dirt in a bowl….it absorbs fast!).

2) Put the dirt pillar back into the original container and stick the beans in.

3) Put on the “sprouting top” and place the container on a windowsill (I had never seen one of these before — the sprouting top, not the windowsill.  Perhaps this lack of sprouting top is why all my other plants died….)

And there you have it!  The instructions said the beans should sprout in 5-10 days.

I checked every day for signs of life.  Nothing.  When I left to go spend Christmas with my family, there wasn’t a whole lot of activity going on with my plant.  But when I got back today, I checked the windowsill and this is what I found:

This sight was a very cool surprise!  I was also amused when I saw that the bud says “I love you” on the side.  But I do have one question for all the gardeners out there: is the plant supposed to curve?  I bet it was that pesky sprouting top…

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas, Bean!

    • I had no idea plants needed to curve….really interesting! haha, fetal-ish, good way to put it! When I checked on the plant this morning, it had straightened out. My lil plant baby is growing up *sniffle*

Leave a Reply

